Oh, technology

So, WordPress has been driving me up the wall the past few days. Not only does my new layout not display correctly, but also the WordPress.com homepage frequently refuses to load, making it impossible for me to sign in and post.

Rather frustrating, especially when I’m actually on a roll with my project.

Anyway, I’ve doing research for the final project in International Journalism, because I need to start thinking about how the information I cover there will apply to my independent study. In class today, Vadim presented a list of media elements we should consider while working on our projects. So far, I can think of a general skeleton for those elements in Mexico:

  • Cultural characteristics – languages include Spanish as well as various Mayan and other regional indigenous languages
  • Cultural policy is a term that appears frequently in articles about Mexican mass media. After the 1994 implementation of NAFTA, scholars and nationalists rose concerns about an increase in U.S. media and, therefore, a loss of Mexican culture. This argument takes on different shapes in each article.
  • Telenovelas very popular for TV entertainment; radio and Internet have played a huge role in the Zapatista and APPO movements
  • Somewhat worldcentric in its media flow; i.e., Televisa and TV Azteca export to the U.S. and other Latin American countries at the same time that Mexico imports U.S. news, movies, and music
  • According to Internet World Stats, 23,7000,000 of Mexico’s nearly 109 million people (21.8%) use the Internet. Of course, this does not distinguish between people who have Internet access in their homes and those who pay at widely popular Internet cafés.

Also, before Mexico signed onto NAFTA, the state government ran its own television network, Imevisión. It attempted to compete with privately-owned Televisa, but struggled “due to an inflated payroll, revolving-door leadership, feeble programming, and a notoriously small prime-time audience” (Wilkinson, “Cultural Policy in a Free-Trade Environment”). It was privatized and renamed Televisión Azteca.

I’ve found other articles on the regulation of radio in Mexico, which is probably what I’ll end up focusing on. It seems as if Mexican television is dominated by market forces, while the radio is repeatedly used by social movements to promote their cause.  More to come on that later.

2 responses to “Oh, technology

  1. I’ve never used my wordpress.com account, since hosting is so cheap these days (see nearlyfreespeech.net). But the theme looks fine today, in Camino. Feel free to shoot me an e-mail if you have theming probs in the future.

  2. Hey, Zeke! It’s been a while. I hope all is well with you.

    Thanks for the tip, and the offer to help. I really appreciate it.

    If you’re ever bored, shoot me an e-mail. Tell me how life is going.

Leave a Reply

